Top white email2x Email us Top white webcam2x Webcam Top white search2x Basket Login

History and Governance

The Seaview Sailing Trust was formed out of the Seaview Schools sailing programme started by the Sea View Yacht Club in 2017 by the then Commodore, Michael Smith. From the outset the programme was supported by generous members of the Sea View Yacht Club, along with external funders, such as livery companies and various trusts including Sir Ben Ainslies 1851 Foundation. The initial programme provided 15 places for 10 weeks during the summer term to Year 5 students from Nettlestone Primary School. This proved so successful that requests soon followed from other schools. 

As the programme has grown and more funds have been raised, the club felt that the fundraising should be carried out by an independent charity, separate from the finances and management of the club. The SVYC remains a strong supporter of the charity, and three of its officials sit on the board alongside the independent trustees. However, the Trust is an independent charity and our decision-making, finances and governance are separated. 

Board of Trustees: 

Andrea Minton Beddoes (Chair), Reg Barry, Jon Curtis, Richard Dobbs, Christopher Garnett, Stephen Jones, Edward Kershaw (Vice Chair), Tracy North, Lucy Richardson, William Robins, Michael Smith

Seaview Sailing Trust, The Esplanade, Seaview, Isle of Wight PO34 5HB
A Charitable Incorporated Organisation with the charity number 1198176

© 2024 Sea View Yacht Club powered by Sailing Club Manager